Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Photo courtesy of John C. Engelhardt /


Equine Drug Research Council

This committee makes recommendations to the KHRC regarding equine racing medication rules and policies.
EDRC overview 
EDRC members 
Necropsy Committee

This committee is responsible for developing procedures, monitoring practices, and identifying research goals for the post-mortem examination of horses that die or are euthanized as a result of a race-related injury or accident.

Kentucky Horse Breeders' Incentive Advisory Committee

​This committee consists of three members appointed by the Chairman of the Commission by July 1 of each year.  One of the members is recommended by the Kentucky Equine Education Project (KEEP).  Each member serves on the committee from July 1 through June 30 of the following year. The purpose of the committee is to advise and assist the KHRC on the registration process and award distribution plans for each member breed organization.  Any change to the program is reviewed by the committee with a formal recommendation to the commission.  

Kentucky Sire Stakes Advisory Panel

This committee consists of one representative from each of the following organizations: Kentucky Horse Racing Commission, Kentucky Harness Horseman’s Association, host racetrack, Kentucky Standardbred Breeders Association and the owner of a stallion registered to the Kentucky Standardbred Development Fund.  The purpose of the committee is to annually review the purse distributions of revenue for the Kentucky Sire Stakes.

Kentucky Thoroughbred Breeders' Incentive Advisory Committee

This committee consists of eight members appointed by the chairman of the commission.  The committee is not mandated by regulation, but rather appointed on a need-be basis.  Currently, the committee consists of three commissioners and five Kentucky breeders.  The purpose of the committee is to review program requirements and confirm the program is supporting the mission of the fund. 
Kentucky Thoroughbred Development Advisory Committee

This committee consists of five members appointed by the chairman of the commission by July 1 of each year.  The committee consists of two thoroughbred breeders recommended by Kentucky Thoroughbred Owners and Breeders Association (KTOBA), one thoroughbred owner recommended by the Kentucky Horsemen’s Benevolent and Protection Association (KyHBPA), one officer or director of a licensed association conducting thoroughbred racing in Kentucky and one member of the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission. The purpose of the committee is to advise and assist the commission in the development of the supplemental purse program for Kentucky bred thoroughbreds. 

Rules Committee

This committee reviews the regulatory structure of the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission and makes recommendations regarding regulations governing the racing industry.

Rules committee members 

Safety and Welfare Committee

This committee identifies issues of concern and makes recommendations to promote human and equine safety and welfare in Kentucky horse racing.

Safety and welfare committee members 
Wagering Integrity Committee

This committee advises the KHRC on matters relating to the security and integrity of the tote system.